Log in


Register

Find a brewery


De Halve Maan

De Halve Maan

Address

Walplein 26
8000 Bruges

Phone-Fax

Tel: +32 50 44 42 22
Fax: +32 50 44 42 20

Email

info@halvemaan.be

Info

This is the story of an original brewery family from Bruges who has never stopped believing in authentical local beer. Since 1856, six generations have steered the brewery with one single goal in mind: offer superior beer both in quality and in taste while respecting the traditional brewery art ...

Henri I
Brewery ‘De Halve Maan’ (The Half Moon) can go back on a very long history. Already in 1564 the town register mentions the existence of the brewery ‘Die Maene’ (The Moon) on the Walplein.
In 1856 Leon Maes, also known as Henri I, becomes owner of the property. With the support of his uncle, Canon P.J. Maes he founded a ‘modern’ brewery. In that time they brewed according to traditional methods : the produced beer was turbid and sourish with a high fermentation and limited durability. The beer was then only produced and distributed in barrels.

Henri II
After Henri I’s death in 1867, his sons Henri II and Achère took over the brewery. During the industrial revolution Henri went to England to learn about the newest technologies in order to be able to apply it in Bruges. He built an English maltery and kiln and started brewing ‘English-style’ beers such as stout and pale-ale. In 1883 the brothers invested in a modern boiler to increase their production.

Achère and Henri II both died young in 1905 and their widows continued to take care of the brewery. They managed to get through the difficult period of the first world war.

Henri III
After WWI in 1919, Henri III took over the controle of the brewery. He went to Germany to pick up the latest evolutions in brewing technologies. There he learned about beers of low fermentation ‘lagers’. He decided to brew this kind of beer in Bruges. In 1928 he adapted his brewing facilities with new cooling installations in order to produce low fermentation beers. He launched ‘Bock’, a light pils beer which was immediatlely a big succes. The production increased with 46 % within one year. In the 30’s he followed the newest trend of producing soft drinks (coke, lemonade) and water. He specialised in a home-delivery system with horse and hamper and made it a point of honour to visit each one of his customers at least once a year.

After WWII Henri III became also owner of the neighbour brewery ‘Brugge Zeehaven’. The extra space made the large scale renovation possible which was necessary because of the rising production. The building had about today’s layout with the coolship, a large malt floor and kiln in German style.

Henri IV
In the 50’s Henry IV also became active into the family business. The brewery and its home-delivery system grew in popularity. The table beer and ‘Domino’ lemonades were their most succesfull products distributed by horse and hamper – later they used trucks – whole over West-Flanders. However, in the 70’s, the new way of life became the downfall of the system. People bought cars and went buying their beer in supermarkets. The brewery was too small to have them as customers.

VĂ©ronique
In the 80’s the interest for traditional regional beers increased. VĂ©ronique, daughter of Henri IV, launched a new special beer in 1981. It was a blond beer of high fermentation. The first time it was brewed it was for the inauguration of the Saint-Arnold statue in Bruges. Saint-Arnold is the patron of the brewers … However, the beer was a success and the Mayor asked for it to be served at receptions in the townhall. The beer was a bit stronger than other beers and that is why it got the appropriated name of ‘Straffe Hendrik’ (Strong Henri). In 1988 Riva NV took over the beer brand. Straffe Hendrik has been brewed by Riva in Bruges until 2002.

During the 80’s the brewery opened its doors to the public : the house brewery was born. The former bottling devices and maltery were arranged into cosy dining rooms.

The historic brewery is still owned by the Family Maes who receives many tourists from all over the world to visit the brewery museum.

Xavier
In 2005, Xavier Vanneste, son of Mrs VĂ©ronique Maes, revived the brewery-activities after a thorough renovation and modernisation of the brewery-installation. He launched a new beer under the name "Brugse Zot" for which a unique recipe had been developed. Today Brugse Zot is the one and only beer really brewed in Bruges' towncenter!

Right from the start, "Brugse Zot" has been a great success, both in and far beyond the city of Bruges. The famous award-winning beer has already forced the family to expand the brewing activities...

By the end of 2008, "Straffe Hendrik" a beer once developed and brewed by the Maes' familiy returned to Bruges and is now being brewed, once again, at the brewery "De Halve Maan" according to the original recipe.

Brewery Visit

Guided tour
The museum presents the unique opportunity to discover the old tradional brewing methods in Bruges. Daily guided tours will allow you to visit both the modern brewery as the museum.

Our experienced guides will teach you everything about malt and hops.

During the visit you will also enjoy an amazing panoramic view over Bruges.

In the pub of the brewery our chef presents a varied menu including regional specialties and beer cuisine.

You can choose from daily homemade suggestions prepared with market-fresh products at a very gentle price.

Groups can choose from a large variety of menus including buffets and gastronomic evenings.

About the guided tour
The tour lasts for 45 minutes and costs 6 euro per person, which includes tasting the beer.

Visiting hours for the guided tour
From April to October

  • Mon-Fri from 11am till 4pm (every hour)

  • Sat from 11 am till 5 pm (every hour)

  • Sun from 11 am till 4 pm (every hour)


From November to March

  • Mon-Fri at 11 am and 3 pm

  • Sat from 11 am till 5 pm (every hour)

  • Sun from 11 am till 4 pm (every hour)


Groups should reserve a guide as soon as possible since a guide can be booked for groups from 20 persons in the preferred language (Dutch, French, English or German). Groups can also book a guided tour outside the specified timetables.

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws

Connexion


S'inscrire

Trouvez une brasserie


De Halve Maan

De Halve Maan

Adresse

Walplein 26
8000 Brugge

Téléphone-Fax

Tel: +32 50 44 42 22
Fax: +32 50 44 42 20

Email

info@halvemaan.be

Info

Ceci est l'histoire d'une famille de six générations de brasseurs de tradition qui ont, dès le début en 1856, continué à brasser de la bière de façon traditionnelle avec un seul but: obtenir des bières de haute qualité et de grande saveur.

Henri I
La brasserie “De Halve Maan” connaît une longue histoire. En 1564 le registre communal brugeois mentionne déjà l’existence d’une brasserie « Die Maene » à la Place de la Digue. C’est en 1856 que Leon Maes, alias Henri I, devient propriétaire du bâtiment. Avec l’aide de son oncle, le chanoine P.J. Maes, il y installe une brasserie moderne. On y applique les méthodes de brasserie de l’époque. On y produit une bière trouble et acide de haute fermentation à conservation limitée. A l’époque la bière n’est fabriquée et distribuée qu’en tonneaux.

Henri II
Après la mort de Henri I en 1867, les fils Henri II et Achère héritent de la brasserie. Henri II part en Angleterre en pleine révolution industrielle. Il y apprend les techniques les plus récentes et les appliquera plus tard à son retour à Bruges. Il construit une malterie à l’Anglaise avec une touraille, et il commençait à brasser des bières anglaises comme le stout et le pale-ale. En 1883 les frères installent une machine à vapeur moderne pour augmenter la production
En 1905 Achère et Henri II décèdent tous les deux à un jeune âge. Leurs veuves continuent d’exploiter la brasserie et passent les années difficiles de la première guerre mondiale.

Henri III
Après la première guerre mondiale Henri III reprend la brasserie en main. Il se rend en Allemagne pour approfondir ses connaissances dans l’art de brasser. L’Allemagne est alors la référence brassicole. Il y fait la connaissance des bières à basse fermentation et décide aussitôt de brasser des bières similaires à Bruges. En 1928 il adapte les installations aux besoins de la production des bières à basse fermentation en installant des systèmes de réfrigération. Il lance la « Bock », une pils lègère. La vente augmente immédiatement spectaculairement : après un an il produit déjà 46 % de plus. Pendant les années ’30 il a aussi suivi la nouvelle tendance des soft drinks (coca et limonade) et d’eau. Dès lors, la bière est non seulement vendue en fûts, mais aussi en bouteilles et livrée aux clients en charrettes tirées à cheval. Il se spécialise dans cette vente à domicile, et visite chaque année personnellement tous ses clients.

Après la deuxième guerre mondiale, en 1946, Henri III reprit la brasserie voisine « Brugge-Zeehaven ». Grâce à l’espace supplémentaire il peut commencer les grands travaux nécessaires pour suivre la production croissante. A l’époque le bâtiment a plus au moins la configuration d’aujourd’hui avec un bac refroidisseur, une grande malterie et une nouvelle touraille allemande.

Henri IV
Au début des années ’50 Henri IV rentre en activité à la brasserie. La clientèle à domicile se développe sans cesse et la brasserie jouit d'une grande renommée dans la région brugeoise. La bière de table et les limonades « Domino » deviennent populaires. Toute une équipe de fournisseurs avec des charrettes et des chevaux – plus tard avec des camions – distribue les boissons à domicile. Pendant les années 70 ce point fort devient le point faible de la brasserie. Les habitudes des gens changent. Les gens achètent de plus en plus leur bière en voiture aux supermarché. La brasserie est trop petite pour livrer ces supermarchés.

Véronique
Au début des années 80 l'intérêt pour les bières spéciales artisanales se fait toujours plus grande. Véronique (fille de Henri IV) lance une nouvelle bière spéciale en 1981 : une bière blonde, houblonnée et de fermentation haute. A l’origine c’était une bière unique, brassée à l’occasion de l’inauguration d’une statue de St Arnould à Bruges. St Arnould est le Saint-Patron des brasseurs… Les Brugeois apprécient d'emblée cette nouvelle bière, et elle est recommandé pour les réceptions officielles à la mairie. La bière est plutôt alcoolisée et c’est pourquoi on lui donne un nom bien approprié ; " Straffe Hendrik " (Henri Fort) dans la tradition des Henri Maes. En 1988 la marque est reprise par Riva NV. Jusqu’en 2002 les bières Straffe Hendrik sont encore brassée à Bruges par Riva.

Pendant les années 80 la brasserie ouvre ses portes au public. L’ancienne malterie et les anciennes installations sont transformées en salles de fêtes. Le site historique est toujours dans les mains de la famille Maes qui y reçoit de nombreux visiteurs.

Xavier
Depuis avril 2005, la longue tradition brassicole qu’avait connu la ville de Bruges tout au long de son histoire a été remise à l’honneur grâce à la reprise des activités de la brasserie De Halve Maan. Cette brasserie est désormais la seule et unique brasserie en activité dans le centre de Bruges.

Xavier Vanneste, le fils de Véronique Maes, n’a pas ménagé ses efforts pour rénover l’atelier de brassage et mettre au point de nouveaux « crus ». En 2005, une nouvelle bière est présentée au grand public: la bière Brugse Zot (le Fou de Bruges), la seule et unique bière brassée à Bruges.

C'est vers la fin de 2008 que la brasserie rachète la marque "Straffe Hendrik" - une bière initialement concipiée par le grand-père de Xavier, Henri Maes et sa fille Véronique. Dès à présent, la bière est de nouveau brassée selon la recette originale.

Visitez la brasserie

Visite guidée
L’ancienne tradition de cette brasserie brugeoise a été conservée dans un musée authentique. Tous les jours il y a des visites guidées aussi bien dans la brasserie moderne que dans le musée.

Avec nos guides qualifiés vous découvrez le monde unique du malt et du houblon…

Durant la visite vous pouvez aussi profiter de la vue panoramique de Bruges.

Dans la taverne de la brasserie, le chef vous offre une cuisine variée avec des plats régionaux et une cuisine à la bière.

Tous les jours il vous offre des suggestions qui ont été préparées avec les produits frais du marché, toujours en concordance avec les bières de maison et à des prix modérés.

“Pour les groupes il y a beaucoup de possibilités à tous les prix; allant d’un buffet campagnard à un menu gastronomique.”

Quelques informations pratiques
La visite dure 45 minutes, et elle coûte 6 euro par personne. Une dégustation de la "Brugse Zot" après la visite est comprise. Les visites partent tous les jours en Néerlandais, Français et Anglais. (Allemand sur demande)

Heures de visite du musée de la brasserie
De avril à octobre

  • du lundi au vendredi: toutes les heures de 11 h à 16 h

  • le samedi: toutes les heures de 11 h à 17 h

  • le dimanche: toutes les heures de 11 h à 16 h


De novembre à mars

  • du lundi au vendredi: à 11 heures et 15 heures

  • le samedi: toutes les heures de 11 h à 17 h

  • le dimanche: toutes les heures de 11h à 16h


Les groupes réservent de préférence au plus vite. Dans ce cas un guide privé est prévu (à partir de 20 personnes) dans la langue et au moment souhaité. Les groupes sont aussi acceptés en dehors des horaires indiqués.

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws