Log in


Register

Find a brewery


Abdij van Floreffe

Abdij van Floreffe

Address

rue du Séminaire 7
5150 Floreffe

Phone-Fax

Tel: +32 (0)81 44 53 03 (Mr. Alexandre)
Fax: +32 (0)81 44 10 63

Email

abbayefloreffe@swing.be

Info

A short history of the Abbey and its beer

It is in 1121 that Norbert de Gennep, founder of the order of Prémontrés, founded the Abbey of Floreffe (which is named after flora : Latin for flower), at the request of the Counts of Namur.

Out of all the Abbeys in the area, Floreffe quickly asserts itself as the most important. During the following centuries they found numerous abbeys. Let us quote for example the Abbey of Leffe (1152), founded on grounds which had been received as a private domain. Other abbeys were created in France, Germany and even one in the Holy Land.

Around the year 1250, a Mill-Brewery is built within the Abbey. The first beers of the Abbey of Floreffe were brewed.

Up to the 18th. century, the Abbey of Floreffe and that of Mielmont formed a shield that protected Namur. It is after this long period of war that taxed the Abbey of Floreffe until the 18th century that the buildings which still make up the Abbey of today were built.

The abbey thrived until 1794, date on which the French revolution arrives in our region. The Abbey of Floreffe is deserted by the monks and put up for sale. It is repurchased by associated monks but there will never be an important enough community reunited in this locality to restore the Norbertins. The production of beer is obviously abandoned.

In 1842, three survivors of the monks of Floreffe remain, the last of these dies in 1850.

Faced with these disappearances, measures were taken for the conservation of the Abbey on the site of Floreffe. With this in mind, it is initially a seminar then a school which occupied the walls of the Abbey.

In 1960, the Headmaster of the College of the Abbey of Floreffe decides, in order to collect money for the maintenance of the buildings, to restore the Mill-Brewery and to start the production of beer once more. The Mill-Brewery is one of the bases of the tourist centre of attraction of the Abbey. As for the beer, it is initially entrusted to the Het Anker brewery in Malines. In 1983 the range of beers of the Abbey of Floreffe is entrusted to the Lefebvre Brewery. It is initially composed of 3 beers: Double, Triple Floreffe and Prima Melior and will be extended further with a lager and white variety.

An acknowledged Belgian Abbey beer
Fulfilling the 3 necessary conditions of the patent, the beers of the Abbey of Floreffe, produced by the Lefebvre Brewery, are certified Acknowledged Belgian Abbey Beer.

Brewery Visit

Visits of the Abbey are organized all year round. As for the Mill-Brewery, this allows you to taste the countryside products manufactured for the Abbey.
For more information, surf on :www.abbaye-de-floreffe.be

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws

Connexion


S'inscrire

Trouvez une brasserie


Abdij van Floreffe

Abdij van Floreffe

Adresse

rue du Séminaire 7
5150 Floreffe

Téléphone-Fax

Tel: +32 (0)81 44 53 03 (Mr. Alexandre)
Fax: +32 (0)81 44 10 63

Email

abbayefloreffe@swing.be

Info

Bref historique de l'Abbaye et de sa bière

C’est en 1121 que Norbert de Gennep, fondateur de l'ordre des Prémontrés, fonde l’Abbaye de Floreffe (qui vient de flores : fleur en latin), à la demande des Comtes de Namur.

De toutes les Abbayes de la région, Floreffe s’impose rapidement comme la plus importante. Durant les siècles suivants elle fonde de nombreuses abbayes. Citons par exemple l’Abbaye de Leffe (1152), fondée sur des terres qui avaient été reçues en fief. D’autres abbayes sont crées en France, Allemagne et même une en Terre Sainte.

Vers 1250, un Moulin-Brasserie est construit au sein de l’Abbaye. On y brasse les premières bières de l’Abbaye de Floreffe.

Jusqu’au 18ème siècle, l’Abbaye de Floreffe et celle de Mielmont formèrent un bouclier pour protéger Namur. C’est après cette longue période de guerre qui frappa l’Abbaye de Floreffe jusqu’au 18ème siècle que furent construit les bâtiments qui composent encore l’Abbaye d'aujourd’hui.

L’abbaye prospère jusqu’en 1794, date à laquelle la Révolution Française arrive dans nos régions. L’Abbaye de Floreffe est désertée par les moines et mise en vente. Elle est rachetée par des religieux associés mais aucune communauté suffisante ne sera jamais réunie pour y rétablir les Norbertins. La production de bière est bien évidement abandonnée.

En 1842, il reste trois survivants des moines de Floreffe, le dernier d'entre eux meurt en 1850.

Face à cette disparition, des mesures furent prises dans le sens d'une conservation de l'Abbaye en lieu et place de Floreffe. Dans cette idée, c’est d’abord un séminaire puis une école qui occupèrent les murs de l’Abbaye.

En 1960, le Proviseur du Collège de l’Abbaye de Floreffe décide, afin de réunir de l’argent pour l’entretient des bâtiments, de restaurer le Moulin-Brasserie et de relancer la production de la bière. Le Moulin-Brasserie est une des bases du pole touristique de l’Abbaye. La bière, quand à elle est confié dans un premier temps à la brasserie Het Anker à Malines. En 1983 la gamme des bières de l’Abbaye de Floreffe est confiée à la Brasserie Lefèbvre. Elle se compose d’abord de 3 bières : la Floreffe Double, Triple et Prima Melior et sera étoffée par la suite avec une blonde et une blanche.

Une bière Belge d'Abbaye Reconnue
Remplissant les 3 conditions nécessaires au brevet, les bières de l’Abbaye de Floreffe, produites par la Brasserie Lefèbvre, sont certifiées Bière Belge d’Abbaye Reconnue.

Visitez la brasserie

Des visites de l'Abbaye sont organisées pendant toute l'année. Le Moulin-Brasserie, quant à lui, vous permet de déguster les produits du terroir fabriqués pour l'Abbaye.
Pour plus de renseignement, surfez sur : www.abbaye-de-floreffe.be

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws