Log in


Register

Find a brewery


Lefebvre

Lefebvre

Address

Chemin du Croly 54
1430 Quenast

Phone-Fax

Tel: +32 (0) 67 67 07 66
Fax: + 32 (0) 67 67 02 38

Email

info@brasserielefebvre.be

Info

The origins of the Lefebvre brewery, located at Quenast (in the Brabant region of Wallonia, the French speaking district of Belgium) in the valley of the Senne, goes back to 1876. In this year, Jules Lefebvre, gamekeeper, farmer, inn keeper and brewer, inaugurated his new brewery. Pubs were opened around the neighbouring porphyry quarries so that the numerous workmen, made thirsty by stone working, could come to refresh themselves.

In 1916, during the war, the brewery is dismantled, following the commandeering of metals by the Germans.

In 1921, just after the First World War, Auguste Lefebvre, son of Jules, moves the brewery from the centre of the village towards a neighbouring hill in order to avoid the annual floods of the Seine. The new brewery was installed in the place of a brewery that had been in bankruptcy, in the location where the present buildings are.

In 1921, Gaston Lefebvre, the third generation, modernized the brewery by, notably, starting the bottling of beer that widened the range of beer conditioning, which was until that time, only conditioned in 30, 50 and 100 litre barrels.

In 1932, cylinder-conical tanks are installed in the brewery. This technical effort allows the brewery, during a certain time, to enjoy a certain technological advance in the brewery field.

During the period from 1940 to 1945, the war and the death of the wife of Gaston slows the activities of the brewery down. The brewery is not dismantled but the obligation to only produce a beer with a low alcohol level (a maximum of 0.8% of alcohol) will affect all the breweries. This obligation has the effect of reinforcing the deceleration of this activity.

In 1953, and up to the year 1987, the brewery also becomes a drinks trader.

In 1960, Pierre Lefebvre takes over the brewery while the neighbouring quarries reduce their activities. A new beer makes its appearance : the Porph-Ale. Containing 5% of alcohol and produced by high fermentation, this beer gets its name from the local stone.

In 1966, another beer is born : the Super-Houblo, a Scotch type of beer, containing 6% of alcohol.

In 1975, Philippe Lefebvre, the 5th generation, takes over the brewery in his turn, endowed with a marketing diploma.

The first yeast beers are created in 1978, following a positive contact with the Abbaye de Bonne-Espérance.

In 1980 the first real exports start. The export of the Bonne-Espérance, especially re-fermented in the bottle, for Italy quickly proves to be a success.

In 1983, the Abbey of Floreffe entrusts the Lefebvre family with a licence for the brewing of its special beers. The range, including 3 beers at the beginning, quickly widens to 5. To the Floreffe Double, Floreffe Triple and Floreffe Prima Melior are added, thereafter, the Floreffe Blonde and Floreffe Blanche.

In 1989, a white beer is added, la Student, which will quickly be renamed : Blanche de Bruxelles.

In 1996, the brewery innovates and launches Barbãr, a lager with honey. Its little sister, Barbãr brassin dhiver, brewed from October to February, will be created in the following years.

An apple beer is launched in 1998 : the Newton.

In 2002, Paul Lefebvre, the son of Philippe, joined the brewery in his turn. His arrival is synonymous with innovations. In 2003, a cherry beer, Belgian Kriek as well as a peach beer, Belgian Pêches, is launched on the market. In 2004, it is Belgian Framboises (raspberry) that is launched.

Six generations young, the Lefebvre brewery remains above all a family business. Unceasingly in expansion, they mainly work with overseas countries by exporting more than 80% of their production.

Brewery Visit

For reasons of safety and hygiene, there is no visit to the Brasserie Lefebvre.

You can buy our products at the brewery from Tuesday to Friday, 14h-17h30.

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws

Connexion


S'inscrire

Trouvez une brasserie


Lefebvre

Lefebvre

Adresse

Chemin du Croly 54
1430 Quenast

Téléphone-Fax

Tel: +32 (0) 67 67 07 66
Fax: + 32 (0) 67 67 02 38

Email

info@brasserielefebvre.be

Info

L’origine de la brasserie Lefebvre, située à Quenast (en Brabant Wallon), dans la vallée de la Senne, remonte en 1876. En cette année, Jules Lefebvre, garde-chasse, fermier, aubergiste et malteur, inaugure sa nouvelle brasserie. Des cafés sont ouverts autour des carrières de porphyre avoisinantes pour que les nombreux ouvriers, assoiffés par le travail de la pierre, puissent venir s’y désaltérer.

En 1916, pendant la guerre, la brasserie est démantelée, suite à la réquisition des métaux par les Allemands.

En 1921, au lendemain de la première guerre mondiale, Auguste Lefebvre, fils de Jules, déménage la brasserie du centre du village vers une colline avoisinante pour fuir les inondations annuelles de la Senne. La nouvelle brasserie vient alors s’installer dans une brasserie en faillite, à l’endroit où se tiennent les bâtiments actuels

En 1921, Gaston Lefebvre, troisième génération, modernise la brasserie en démarrant notamment la mise en bouteille de la bière qui vient élargir la gamme de conditionnement de la bière, qui se résumait, jusqu’à lors, aux fûts de 30, 50 et 100 litres.

En 1932, des cuves cylindro-coniques sont installées à la brasserie. Cet apport technique permettra à la brasserie, pendant un certain temps, de jouir d’une certaine avance technologique dans le milieu brassicole.

Durant la période 1940-1945, la guerre et la mort de la femme de Gaston feront ralentir l’activité. La brasserie n’est pas démantelée mais l’obligation de produire exclusivement une bière à faible taux d’alcool (maximum 0.8% de volume d’alcool) touchera toutes les brasseries. Cette obligation à pour effet de renforcer le ralentissement de l’activité.

En 1953, et ce jusqu’en 1987, la brasserie devient aussi un négociant en boissons.

En 1960 Pierre Lefebvre prend la relève alors que les carrières avoisinantes réduisent leurs activités. Une nouvelle bière fait son apparition : la Porph-Ale. Titrant 5% de volume d’alcool et issue de la haute fermentation, cette bière tirait son nom de la pierre locale.

En 1966, une autre bière voit le jour : la Super-Houblo, de type scotch, titrant 6% de volume d’alcool.

En 1975, Philippe Lefebvre, 5ème génération entre à son tour dans la brasserie, muni d’un diplôme de marketing.

Les premières bières sur levure voient le jour en 1978, suite à un contact positif avec l’Abbaye de Bonne-Espérance.

En 1980 démarre véritablement l’exportation. L’exportation de la Bonne-Espérance, spécialement refermentée en bouteille, vers Italie se révèle rapidement être un succès.

En 1983, l’Abbaye de Floreffe confie à la famille Lefebvre la licence de brassage de ses bières spéciales. La gamme, comprenant 3 bières au départ s’élargit rapidement à 5. A la Floreffe Double, Floreffe Triple et Floreffe Prima Melior viennent se rajouter, par la suite, la Floreffe Blonde et la Floreffe Blanche.

En 1989, une bière blanche fait son entrée, la Student, que l’on renommera rapidement : Blanche de Bruxelles.

En 1996, la brasserie innove et lance la Barbãr, une bière blonde au miel. Sa petite sœur, la Barbãr brassin d’hiver, brassée d’octobre à février, verra le jour dans les années suivantes.

En 1998, une bière à la pomme est lancée : la Newton.

En 2002, Paul Lefebvre, le fils de Philippe, rejoint à son tour la brasserie. Son arrivée est synonyme de nouveautés. En 2003, une bière à la cerise, la Belgian Kriek ainsi qu’une bière à la pêche, la Belgian Pêches, sont lancées sur le marché. En 2004, c’est la Belgian Framboises qui est lancée. Elle est suivie pour compléter cette belle gamme par le Quenast, bière pils de haute qualité.

Jeune de six générations, la brasserie Lefebvre reste avant tout familiale. Sans cesse en extension, elle travaille principalement avec l’étranger en exportant plus de 80% de sa production.

Visitez la brasserie

Pour des raisons de sécurité et d'hygiène, il n'y a plus de visite à la Brasserie Lefebvre.

Vous pouvez acheter nos produits à la brasserie du mardi au vendredi de 14h à 17h30.

Bierproef

bierproef Hopus Lefebvre

Nieuws


Nieuws


Nieuws